In the list of states with the highest rates of domestic violence, Alaska consistently ranks in the top ten. Due to these high rates, Alaskan lawmakers have taken steps to crack down on the crimes. The state of Alaska takes domestic violence very seriously, and this can be intimidating if the state charges you with committing domestic violence.
What counts as domestic violence in Alaska?
Domestic violence includes any crime committed against one household member by another member of the household. These examples count as domestic violence in Alaska:
- Battery and assault
- Verbal abuse
- Emotional abuse
- Child endangerment
- Sexual assault
- Attempted murder
What is Alaska’s mandatory arrest statute?
Alaskan law requires police officers to arrest anyone they suspect is committing domestic violence. This also includes anyone they suspect of violating a protective order. If you have violated any conditions of release after being sentenced for domestic violence, the Alaskan mandatory arrest statute also applies to you.
What are the penalties for domestic violence?
Many states in the U.S. prosecute domestic violence crimes under misdemeanors, which typically carry small jail sentences and fines. But in the state of Alaska, all domestic violence crimes are classified as felonies. Your penalties vary depending upon the type of felony they charge you with committing. The most serious felony charges in Alaska result in 99 years in prison and $500,000 in fines.
You still have rights after being accused
A lot is at stake if the state accuses you of committing domestic violence in Alaska. You could lose your freedom, the right to own a gun, access to your children and the right to work in the career of your choice. But all accused individuals have the right to a fair trial where they may challenge the presented evidence.